Starting My Journey Using Scrimba (Ongoing)

My first introduction to Scrimba I was watching a crash course figma tutorial on YouTube by the youtuber DesignCourse. It was a fleeting thought to check it out so me being me I forgot about it the next day. I then was watching freecodecamp's javascript tutorial video on YouTube and Per (Co-founder of Scrimba) happened to be the one teaching the course and told viewers about his company Scrimba and how they help aspiring developers gain confidence in their coding skills and help them obtain jobs in the tech field. I really enjoyed his teaching style and just knowing that I could view more content I made the move to check out the website to see what else was on there. To my pleasure there was other content on there that's FREE and it was content by other creators I knew well based off their work (DesignCourse, Kevin Powell, Ania Kubow, etc.). Needless to say I fell into the rabbit hole of browsing through the website.

Something that caught my eye was the frontend developer career path but of course they required a subscription to obtain the good stuff. So when I first saw that I told myself that I would be fine with going through the free content they had to offer first and then move onto something else to improve my knowledge on the subjects. However, when I looked through the free content, some of the stuff there I felt wasn't neccessary to go over. It was either things I already knew (HTML/CSS), or things I haven't touch yet and didn't want to touch (React) until I had a firm grasp on Javascript. The beginner course just didn't cover the intermediate to master levels I was looking for. I don't know though maybe I'll end up visiting those sections down the road to get refreshers.

After trying to improve my skills over the few years I've started my coding journey, there are things that have finally become concrete in my mind that I don't get stuck on anymore. I've felt a little more confident in myself because of that, but there are also some things that I still have problems with grasping. Sometimes having someone guide me into the direction I need to go, while also creating projects I can do on my own (unlike just following a tutorial), really helps and it had me craving that teaching style more. It was a bonus for me to hear about so many success stories of other coders being able to break into the tech industry after this path, someone even got a job offer from Amazon! So I kept looking back at that frontend developer career path, and really going over the modules of what it all covers (absoultely love that by the way) and just found myself more drawn to it as time passed. Plus, it perfectly aligned with the goals that I'm trying to reach with entering the tech industry with my first job as a frontend software developer.

Needless to say, I bought the career path, with the intention of finishing it in about 3 to 6 months. This post is to give an introduction into my ongoing journey with Scrimba, and seeing where this path will take me. I will make a point to give updates along the way as well as the road blocks I come across. If you have the time I suggest checking them out yourself!

Thanks for taking the time to read my post!

Screenshot (451).png Scrimba